The Library of Congress's Prints and Photographs Division is pleased to
announce that between January and March 2004, it added thousands of catalog
records and images to the Library's Prints and Photographs
Online Catalog (PPOC) http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/catalog.html,
bringing the number of images in the catalog to nearly 1 million.
New materials that will be of interest to a wide variety of researchers include:
National Child Labor Committee Collection (NCLC):
PPOC now offers expanded and enhanced access to approximately 5,100 NCLC
photographs [ca.1908-1924] which were primarily taken by the photographer Lewis
Hine. These photographs are useful for their examination of labor, reform
movements, working class families, education, public health, urban and rural
housing conditions, industrial and agricultural sites, and other aspects of
urban and rural life in America in the early twentieth century. The
collection's catalog records include a wealth of information, including the
locations and names of individuals and businesses featured in the photographs,
transcribed from the collection's original caption cards.
To view or search the collection, go to the Prints and Photographs Online
Catalog http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/catalog.html,
select the blue button labeled: "Search the Catalog," and then scroll
down the alphabetical list of collections to "National Child Labor
Committee Collection." Further information about the collection may
be found at http://lcweb2.loc.gov/pp/nclchtml/nclcabt.html.
U.S. News and World Report Magazine Photograph Collection Selected photographs
from this extensive collection are now available in the Prints and Photographs
Online Catalog. In preparation for the magazine's 70th anniversary, U.S. News
staff selected more than 100 photos taken between 1952 and 1983 of newsworthy
subjects, including the struggle for African American civil rights, presidential
campaigns, and the visits to the United States of foreign dignitaries, as well
as life in Vietnam, the Middle East and Russia. Many of the photos were taken by
staff photographers and have no known publication restrictions. For more
information on the collection and a link to retrieve the images available in the
catalog, please see the collection profile: http://www.loc.gov/rr/print/coll/129_usn.html.
The Library of Congress's Prints and Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog
records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures
held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of
Congress.
* The catalog provides access through group or item records to
about 60 percent of the division's holdings.
* About 90 percent of the records are accompanied by one or more
digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those
searching from outside the Library of Congress, because of rights
considerations.