The Lewis Carroll Scrapbook at the Library of Congress is an original scrapbook that was kept by Charles Lutwidge Dodgson. Better known as Lewis Carroll, the Victorian-era childrenˇ¦s author of Aliceˇ¦s Adventures in Wonderland (1865) and Through the Looking-Glass (1871), Dodgson was a lecturer in mathematics at the University of Oxford. The scrapbook contains approximately 130 items, including newspaper clippings, photographs, and a limited number of manuscript materials, collected between 1855-72. A timeline, authored by Edward Wakeling, former chairman of the Lewis Carroll Society, helps to place materials found in the scrapbook in their proper context.
The Library of Congress's Rare Book & Special Collections Division is
pleased to announce the release of a new digital collection, The Lewis Carroll
Scrapbook Collection, available on the Library's Global Gateway Web site at:
http://international.loc.gov/intldl/carrollhtml/
The Lewis Carroll Scrapbook is an original scrapbook kept by Charles Lutwidge
Dodgson, a lecturer in mathematics at the University of Oxford.
He is better known as Lewis Carroll, the Victorian-era children's author of
such titles as Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865) and Through the
Looking-Glass (1871). The scrapbook appears to have been kept by Carroll
between the years 1855 and 1872, and contains approximately 130 items, including
newspaper clippings, illustrations, and photographs. These items were
personally selected and arranged by Carroll, giving us insight into his
interests and collecting habits.
The scrapbook also includes a limited number of handwritten annotations, some
presumably by Carroll himself. The scrapbook was sold after Carroll's death in
1898 to Frederic L. Huidekoper, an undergraduate at Oxford, at a sale held at
the Holywell Music Rooms. The Library of Congress acquired it shortly
thereafter.
The online collection includes special presentations by Lewis Carroll scholar,
Edward Wakeling. Mr. Wakeling has prepared an introduction to the scrapbook; a
timeline of events for the years that Carroll added to his scrapbook; a timeline
of Carroll's life; a list of Carroll's key works; and a portrait gallery of
people whose names appear in the scrapbook. Another Carroll scholar, August
Imholtz, assisted Mr. Wakeling in preparing bibliographic notes for items that
appear in the scrapbook.
The collection was processed with optical character recognition (OCR) software
and hand-encoded in SGML to allow users to search the full text of the scrapbook
for a word or phrase. This feature enhances the usefulness of the site by
allowing users to search not only titles and authors, but also the full-text of
items.
This online presentation of the Lewis Carroll Scrapbook joins other world
history collections available through the Library of Congress's Global Gateway
Web site:
http://international.loc.gov/intldl/intldlhome.html . The Lewis
Carroll Scrapbook Collection may be found under the heading: "Individual Digital
Collections."
Please direct any questions regarding this collection to the Global Gateway
inquiry form at:
http://www.loc.gov/help/contact-international.html.
ˇ@